Formerly the family temple of Terumoto Mori's mother Myojuin, but after relocating their domain to Choshu, Masanori Fukushima changed it to Myojoin. It has long been protected by successive castle lords, and was used as a temple for praying for pacification and preservation of the territory.The building was completely burned to ashes by the atomic bomb, but was later rebuilt.Highlight Inside the main hall, wooden figures of the loyal retainers of Ako are a must-see.
【What's Futabanosato Historical Walking Trail ?】
The history of Hiroshima began more than 400 years ago during the Period of Warring States, when Terumoto Mori built a castle on a delta and named the area "Hiroshima".
Successive lords Terumoto Mori, Masanori Fukushima and the Asano clan erected shrines and temples to the northeast of the castle, in the Futabanosato area, in order to defend the domain.
Some historical shrines and temples on the Walking Trail, which has a long history going back 1000 years, were burned to ashes in the atomic bombing. However, these were rebuilt, and convey the history of our ancestors to this day.