Kintai-kyo Bridge is an exemplary Japanese wooden bridge and nationally designated as a spot of scenic beauty. In 1673, Kikkawa Hiroyoshi, the third lord of the Iwakuni Domain, built the wooden bridge that would serve as the prototype for the present day Kintai-kyo bridge. It was soon washed away by floods on the Nishiki-gawa River, but improvements were made and the bridge that was rebuilt in 1674 maintained its stately presence for 276 years until it was washed away in the floods brought by Typhoon Kezia in September 1950. After that, it was rebuilt again as a wooden bridge in 1953 based on strong demands from the community. The Heisei Reconstruction Project was started in 2002 to rebuild deteriorating sections of wood, and in March 2004 it was given a new cypress finish. Rebuilding the wooden sections was a periodic tradition on the former Kintai-kyo Bridge (and since the Edo Period) whenever the bridge carpenters changed. The bridge is 210 meters long along its face, or 193.3 meters in a straight line, with a width of 5 meters and an abutment height of 6.6 meters. It was built using a wooden joinery technique that uses metal bands and clamps. The exquisite and creative arched bridge construction is said to be peerless from a modern bridge engineering perspective. Visitors can enjoy scenes enlivened by the colors of the season, whether be it cherry blossoms in Spring, cormorant fishing and fireworks lighting up the summer night sky, fall leaves in the natural forest on Mt. Shiroyama, or a dusting of snow in winter.